Chili for a cold day

20 Dec

Anna Mae's Southern Street Food

For me, when it’s cold outside there’s nothing better than a bowl of hot warming chili to make me feel better. So a few weeks ago when I was at the Chocolate Festival and it was absolutely freezing I was so happy to see Anna Mae’s had set up a chili shack and were serving up their Bowl O’ Red.

Anna Mae's Southern Street Food

When I’ve tried Anna Mae’s before it was for their deliciously creamy Mac N Cheese, so I had high hopes for the chili. Served with Monteray Jack cheese, sour cream and a wedge of lime the chili had a good kick to it, without being too over powering. And while it might not be the traditional way of making a Texas chilli I was glad to see they included kidney beans as its the way I make mine.

Anna Mae's Southern Street Food

However one thing I don’t usually include in my chili is chocolate, but because this was the chocolate festival it was pretty much a requirement! Anna Mae’s used Willie’s Venezuelan black cacao and it added a really nice depth of flavour – chocolate might be the way forward with chili.

Anna Mae's Southern Street Food

One other thing I got to try for the first time was cornbread, this version with jalapeños. Now I can’t tell you whether it was a good cornbread or not as I’ve no idea what a good one tastes like, but it had a great flavour with the kick of the chilli, though the texture was a bit of a surprise as it was quite crumbly and a little drier than I expected, but you might tell me this is exactly how it should be?.

So after trying their fantastic Texas red chili all I need to do now is try their Pulled Pork (the Notorious P.I.G.) and i’ll have tasted the trifecta of Anna Mae’s Southern inspired street food.  Bring on the pig!

Leave a comment