London’s Newest Street Food Burger

8 Jan

First there was Meatwagon, then there was Lucky Chip, could Mother Flipper be next?

Mother Flipper

Mother Flipper first started slinging their burgers back in December, so have only been around for a few weeks, but in that short time i’d seen enough pictures and positive tweets to make me curious enough to head down to Lewisham this last Saturday. You can find Mother Flipper in a Lewisham car park as part of the excellent Brockley Market (which has a fantastic selection of street food) 10am-2pm on Saturdays.

Mother Flipper

Their menu has only three items – the Mother Flipper, the Double Candied Bacon Flipper, and the Chilli Flipper, all for £6 or less. All are made with 28 day aged chuck steak from Marsh Produce and served on a light brioche bun.

I love most spicy food, so thought i’d give the Chilli Flipper a try, at least that was the plan until I saw all the bacon sizzling on the grill.

Mother Flipper

Tempted by the bacon-y goodness I couldn’t help but order a Double Candied Bacon Burger. The two patties were served on a light brioche bun with a few rashers of candied bacon, a slice of American cheese (nothing better for a burger), lettuce, onion, gherkin, ketchup and mustard. And it was a thing of beauty.

Mother Flipper

It looked great, and it tasted fantastic! The meat was nicely seasoned, well cooked and so juicy – the meat juice was literally dripping in my hands, this was definitely a messy eating experience, though who cares when it tastes so good! And despite the sheer juiciness of the burger, the bun held together really well. And lets not forget one of my favourite things in the burger – the bacon. It was properly crisp and because it was candied it added just a little sweetness that went really nicely with the other elements of the burger!

Mother Flipper

I only have one little complaint and its one that I can easily forgive. There was quite a wait for the food to be ready and there was a little confusion over who had placed what order. But given this was only their third week on the market (I think) and how much I loved their burger, I can happily forgive the wait.

Brockley Market is only 10 minutes from London Bridge station, so you’ve no excuse for not heading down and giving this new burger a try.

Mother Flipper

Brockley Market, Saturdays 10am – 2pm

Twitter – @motherflipperuk Facebook.com/motherflipper

4 Responses to “London’s Newest Street Food Burger”

  1. Monkeyboy January 10, 2012 at 10:18 pm #

    ….and Marsh Farm have a stall at the market. Try Mike & Ollies stall next time you’re there, excellent.

    • streetfeast January 10, 2012 at 11:27 pm #

      Mike and Ollie are definitely on my list of places to visit, their food sounds really impressive

  2. reluctantlymeatfree January 13, 2012 at 7:50 pm #

    I love Brockley market. Great burgers, mexican and Mike and Ollies is awesome. Also, very reasonably priced fresh produce and great meats. I think I’m done….

    • streetfeast January 13, 2012 at 8:00 pm #

      I can see why people love it! Think i’ll be back again this weekend – really want to try Mike and Ollie

Leave a comment